Call: (205) 837-4466
Land for Sale

Clay County

Clay County was created by an act of the state legislature on December 7, 1866, and was formed from parts of Randolph and Talladega Counties. Named in honor of Henry Clay, a prominent politician from Kentucky.  

Located in east-central Alabama, Clay County is home to large portions of the Talladega National Forest.  During the Desert Shield/Storm conflict, Clay County had more soldiers serving per capita than any other county in the United States.


There is one  public school system which is the Clay County School system which oversees six schools.  Wallace Community College has a satellite campus in Ashland. In addition, Clay County contains one private school.

Land Size

The County contains 606 square miles of which 604 is land and 2 square miles is water.  Adjacent counties are Cleburene, Randolph, Tallapoosa, Coosa, & Talladega.

Clay County Courthouse

clay county alabama
cheahah clay county

Cheaha State Park

Talladega National Forest

clay county


The County has an estimated population of 13,483 with 34% working in manufacturing. The County seat of Ashland has a population of 2,231 and is the counties second largest city. 


Clay County is governed by the Clay County Commission, consisting of five members,  four are Commissioners and the fifth is the Chairman.  It is headquartered at the county courthouse in Oneonta.


There are over 100 churches in the County, representing faiths of all denominations.


Clay County Healthcare Authority in Ashland provides: 24 Hour Staffed ED and multiple other services.